Skip to main content
Marina Perminova
Helper ⭐️
April 14, 2022
Discovery

Actually move the original comment when merging ideas (and other UX improvements)

Related products:CC Ideation
  • April 14, 2022
  • 4 replies
  • 54 views

Hi there,

Some feedback about the new ideation module.

Now:

  • when we want to merge idea B to idea A, all votes are being transferred but anyone can still vote on idea B
  • both ideas get a new comment for me (moderator) with the link to one another. Why is that?
  • it is not possible to add an actual comment from idea B to idea A.

 

Desired behavior when I merge idea B to idea A:

  • all votes are being transferred
  • a new comment from idea B is merged to the old thread (idea A) as it would normally do in any other category (remaining the original author)
  • that new idea B post gets deleted just like it is happening in other categories. Idea B’s URL redirects to this comment in the idea A’s thread.

4 replies

Cristina
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
July 28, 2022
Updated idea statusNew→Open
Johnk
Helper ⭐️
August 28, 2024

I’ve been manually copying/pasting comments from the merged post into the other thread per the request from our Super Users. This idea would save a few clicks that stack up over time. 

Larry
Helper ⭐️⭐️
March 20, 2026
Open→Discovery
Larry Imgrund || Senior Product Manager & Community Nerd
Larry
Helper ⭐️⭐️
March 20, 2026

Thanks for this idea! The current merge behavior losing the original post content and author is a real gap.

We're moving this into discovery as part of broader improvements to content management and merge workflows. We'll keep this thread updated as we learn more.

Larry Imgrund || Senior Product Manager & Community Nerd