Skip to main content
Anne
Contributor ⭐️⭐️
February 7, 2019
Parked

Provide access to own topics and posts for Archived / Hidden topics

Related products:CC Others
  • February 7, 2019
  • 20 replies
  • 204 views
Some users of our Community would like to access to old material they have written in topics that were moved to our (hidden) archive. We archive these when the information is obsolete and we don't want new visitors to get wrong information.

This is what some of our regular users encounter:


  • They read a new topic and vaguely remember a similar question they might have written a reply for. Instead of reinventing the wheel the user wants to partly recycle their former post.
  • They open the list of posts they have created from their profile. They see the complete list, regardless if the concerning topics are placed in a hidden category.
  • They click on the post they would like to check, then they see the 403 page when the topic was archived/hidden by us.

This also is true - in a lesser extend - for topics they created.

Suggestion: Allways provide access to publicly hidden topics for users that have started the topic or have posted messages in that topic.

20 replies

Gainsight CC Team
Helper ⭐️⭐️
May 6, 2022

Thank you again for sharing this idea! We have made the decision to park it for now because it didn’t gather enough votes.

Gainsight CC Team
Helper ⭐️⭐️
May 6, 2022
Updated idea statusOpen→Closed (Parked)
bradley
Expert ⭐️
February 28, 2024

Can we revisit this? The community platform somewhat recently migrated, and I was a part of a number of groups. Some groups I no longer have access to, some I just don’t know to rejoin, etc.

The problem is that I have a number of posts and comments that I can no longer see. These posts are still relevant, and users that have access to the group and/or post should still be able to see and interact with it. Additionally, I may want to even refer them to community managers or other product managers as reference, and I can no longer do so.

Short ask: If I created a post or made a comment, I should have access to those posts and comments in my history.

dayn.johnson
VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
February 28, 2024

The problem is that I have a number of posts and comments that I can no longer see. These posts are still relevant, and users that have access to the group and/or post should still be able to see and interact with it. Additionally, I may want to even refer them to community managers or other product managers as reference, and I can no longer do so.

Short ask: If I created a post or made a comment, I should have access to those posts and comments in my history.

 

100% -- I had to request access to the old beta groups I was a member of, and when I had a post (question) I’d made earlier in that private group that was absolutely relevant to a new idea I submitted in the publicly visible side of the community, 99% of the community members (and Gainsight employees) were unable to see it.

I shouldn’t have to literally copy the post into a Google doc and drop it in a new post as a comment for it to become visible.

Staff CS Content & Comms Manager, 2x Gainsight CS Ops Product Council Member
Kenneth R
Expert ⭐️⭐️
February 29, 2024

Hi @dayn.johnson and @bradley - the challenges that you’re describing aren’t related to any archiving that we’ve done or any content that we’ve hidden (so we might move these questions out of this particular idea), but I think we do understand what you’re running into.  

As part of the migration we did in December we unfortunately weren’t able to migrate Group membership, so we’ve been doing our best in our announcements and emails to communicate that everyone needs to re-join their old Groups.  For most Groups, new invites were sent out.  And any public Groups can simply be re-joined.  If there are any other Groups that you’re still missing you can always reach out to us (community@gainsight.com) and ask us for help.  Almost all Groups were migrated over, with the exception of a couple that were no longer running actively (e.g. a couple of Beta groups).

The other thing you might be running into is that we weren’t able to migrate the ‘activity feed’ from profile pages.  We realise that some folks use this feed to find content they created in the recent past, so it was unfortunate that this feed needed to be reset.  However, as a workaround, from your profile page you can still click on ‘topics’ or ‘replies’, and these links will take you to your full list of created content.

Hope this helps - don’t hesitate to reach out to us if you have any more questions or issues.

dayn.johnson
VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
February 29, 2024

Makes sense, thank you @Kenneth R!

I actually screenshotted my groups page and rejoined all the groups I was in prior to the migration, so I have access there, and I do check the “topics” and “replies” in my profile to find my old posts as I might need them.

Staff CS Content & Comms Manager, 2x Gainsight CS Ops Product Council Member
bradley
Expert ⭐️
February 29, 2024

Thanks for the reply @Kenneth R - you are correct it’s not exactly the same root cause (I was being a bit lazy in not making a new post, but at the same time wary of essentially duplicating ideas) but from a user perspective it’s still the same issue: I created a post/comment that I no longer have access to (even though the post itself was not deleted).

 

As you said, not all of the groups were migrated over. That doesn’t mean the posts themselves are not still valid. Many ideas I have posted are years old and still use cases that need addressing. Does that make sense?

Kenneth R
Expert ⭐️⭐️
March 7, 2024

@bradley Yes absolutely, makes total sense.  There were a couple of groups that weren’t migrated over, as we’ve talked about, but more broadly I think you are indeed making a really interesting point that does align with the original idea for this topic. 

We generally don’t ‘get rid of’ content here, for the reasons you and the original idea above describe.  In this community we haven’t, until now, actually done any serious archiving for a long time.  Now what’s interesting is that since this idea was created, a change was made in the CC platform to allow for archiving in a way where the archived content remains available to those who created the content.  In short, we have the ability to create a publicly accessible ‘archive category’ where the content is removed from community and search engine indexes, but is still available to those with a direct link. 

So this idea can actually be marked as released, and I can say that as we move forwards, any archiving we do (and we do plan to start doing that in the near future!) will be done in this way so that you don’t lose access to old content.  We’ll aim to do the same with any groups that close, but there may be exceptions with, for example, Beta groups, if there’s content our Product folks don’t want to become public. 

bradley
Expert ⭐️
March 7, 2024

@Kenneth R good to know. And just to clarify, does that mean those “archived” posts will still be available in that users own history? As in, I can go to my own profile and see posts I’ve created?

What about posts I’ve commented on that are archived? Would my comments show up in my own history and I would be able to access the posts that way?

If they’re not indexed or show up anywhere else, users would have to save the URL of everything they’ve created or commented on which wouldn’t make sense.

Also, and I realize this post was initially about archival only, and your last comment is refocusing back on that, but what about posts or comments to groups that one no longer has access to or no longer exist? Those likely don’t meet your definition of “archived”, but in the spirit of “I created it or commented on it I should retain access to it” will we get access to those as well? I appreciate that from a back-end perspective those are different things, but from a user standpoint the distinction is irrelevant.

Kenneth R
Expert ⭐️⭐️
March 13, 2024

Hey @bradley - so for the archiving exercise, you would still see those (both topics and replies you’ve made) in your history and easily be able to find your way back to them that way.  And keep in mind that when we do archive, we’ll do it for a reason - it will be old content that hasn’t been engaged with for a long time and that likely is no longer accurate (this community has been around for almost ten years!).  

When we do close a group we’ll aim to keep the content available by moving it out to a category, so that you still have access to it.  As I mentioned above, there might be exceptions to this, for example, if the content is confidential (for example, related to a private Beta).