Skip to main content
Contributor ⭐️
Oct 27, 2023 3:15 PM UTC
Solved

Changed primary role- user can't login to backend

Hello! I changed the role of one of my users from a “registered user” to a “community manager” because I would like them to access the backend to create articles. I changed the role, they clicked “control” on the page and it prompted them to enter and username and password. They have never created a password because of SSO. They tried clearing their cache, clicking forgot password button but no luck. What is the best way to get them into the backend? Thanks!

lauro.lana
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Oct 27, 2023 11:08 PM UTC

Hi @Lindsay!

Unfortunately there isn’t currently SSO login for the back-end. For the specific user that needs to login to the backend, please go to their user profile, create a password and click on ‘Apply changes’.
 
They will be able to login to the back-end with their username/email + password. Please do let me know if you still need any assistance on this issue!

4 replies

lauro.lana
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Oct 27, 2023 11:08 PM UTC

Hi @Lindsay!

Unfortunately there isn’t currently SSO login for the back-end. For the specific user that needs to login to the backend, please go to their user profile, create a password and click on ‘Apply changes’.
 
They will be able to login to the back-end with their username/email + password. Please do let me know if you still need any assistance on this issue!

Translate
mfrei
Contributor ⭐️
Oct 30, 2023 1:45 PM UTC

Hi @leo-inspired! 👋 I believe I’m running into this same issue with a new administrator on our team while SSO is enabled. I really appreciate the advice you shared here. After typing a new password on their profile page and clicking “Apply changes”, their password field resets and what I typed disappears. Is that expected and should I proceed with asking them to try the password I applied? Or, does this sound like something I should report as a bug?

Translate
Chris Hackett
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Oct 30, 2023 9:30 PM UTC

Hi @mfrei - I have set this up many times and that’s just how it works. They will be able to login to Control with the password you gave them. I would then encourage them to change their password to what they want.

Translate
Chris
lauro.lana
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Oct 31, 2023 1:21 PM UTC

Hey @mfrei !

That is expected behavior I can confirm, it means the password fields were updated. You’ll also see a green banner on the top of the page saying “User has been updated”.

Translate