Skip to main content
bjoern_schulze
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
November 23, 2020
Solved

What happens with private messages when an account is being deleted?

  • November 23, 2020
  • 4 replies
  • 137 views

Basically as the title says. ;)

Will private messages automatically be deleted from the database when a user account is being deleted? Or are they being kept despite the account deletion? I’m asking because we need to make sure that all identifiable user data is being removed when a user asks us to remove the account and all personal information.   

Best answer by Suvi Lehtovaara

@bjoern_schulze I actually just read this topic: 

It says that they are deleted, so I suppose they are deleted? :relaxed:

 

4 replies

Suvi Lehtovaara
Helper ⭐️⭐️
November 24, 2020

This is a really good question @bjoern_schulze, I’m also very interested in hearing the answer :)

https://yhteiso.elisa.fi/
bjoern_schulze
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
December 7, 2020

I’m bumping up this one. cc @Julian 

Suvi Lehtovaara
Helper ⭐️⭐️
December 7, 2020

@bjoern_schulze I actually just read this topic: 

It says that they are deleted, so I suppose they are deleted? :relaxed:

 

https://yhteiso.elisa.fi/
Julian
Gainsight Employee ⭐️⭐️⭐️
December 7, 2020

Sorry for being a bit late to the party, I was on holiday...

I have just tested it to be 100% sure. As the user does not exist any more, the conversation itself is being deleted. So yes, if a user is being erased, the messages are erased as well. :)

I follow my nose, it always knows