Question

Automated Emails

  • 15 November 2023
  • 2 replies
  • 28 views

Hello! I am looking to set automated triggers for the following groups:

1. Users who registered 1 week ago and have not contributed yet

2. Users who performed their last activity 3 months ago 

3. Users who performed their last activity 2 weeks ago

I have a few questions for each group:

1. The trigger is listed as "registered after ___ days", does this mean when I create this email, everyone who registered after this many days will be contacted right away? Will this include users who have contributed already? 

3. Will all users who performed their last activity 2 weeks ago be contacted right away after constructing this email? If so, does that mean users who I want to setup the email for after 3 months also be contacted?

Thank you!


2 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +2

Hey Lindsay, Love a good onboarding tactical discussion :) 

 

Please look up the /email/new/email-campaign area for Automated Email campaigns.

You could config that Segment today using filters /users/overview

and can go on to set up a One-off email today and not an Automated email

So right now the process is manual and I will leave it to the CC Product team to communicate on possibilities available today and in the future.

Userlevel 1

Will all users who performed their last activity 2 weeks ago be contacted right away after constructing this email? If so, does that mean users who I want to setup the email for after 3 months also be contacted?

 

I’ve just been looking into this functionality. What I learned is that the email is only sent when users cross that particular threshold. So when you set up an automated mail for “users whose last activity was >30 days ago”, no-one is immediately emailed, even if they have been inactive for >30 days. Only when the a user hits that 30 day mark do they get the email.

Similarly, if you set up >14 days too, no-one >30 days inactive will get that email as well. It only gets sent out to a user when that user reaches the 14 days inactive mark. Not to everyone else.

That’s what I read, anyway, and trial+error confirmed that this is the way it works.

Reply