Skip to main content
DannyPancratz
VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Oct 29, 2024 6:31 PM UTC
Solved

If a user is deleted, deactivated, or removed from Admin team, are API keys deactivated?

I think the answer is no, but I need to confirm. 

Previous colleagues created some API keys for integrations into various business systems (ex. Snowflake, Tableau, etc). They have not logged-in as an Admin in Control for 3+ years. We’ve kept them active as a seat on our team because we thought they needed access for those integrations. But it turns out the ETL pipelines are just using the API keys created by that user. 

Will deleting, deactivating, and/or removing from the Admin team impact the API keys created? 

    Kenneth R
    Kenneth RAnswer
    Expert ⭐️⭐️
    Oct 31, 2024 10:58 AM UTC

    Yep, just got it confirmed - API keys are in no way linked to the users that created them.

    6 replies

    Kenneth R
    Expert ⭐️⭐️
    Oct 31, 2024 9:10 AM UTC

    Hey @DannyPancratz - I’m also nearly 100% sure that API keys aren’t linked to the user that created them, but I’m double / triple-checking for you just in case.  :)

    Translate
    Kenneth R
    Kenneth RAnswer
    Expert ⭐️⭐️
    Oct 31, 2024 10:58 AM UTC

    Yep, just got it confirmed - API keys are in no way linked to the users that created them.

    Translate
    DannyPancratz
    VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    Dec 11, 2025 2:46 AM UTC

    ​@benwanless you should be able to have multiple API keys set up. 

    Translate
    FYI: I am no longer active in this community
    benwanless
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    Dec 11, 2025 6:02 PM UTC

    ​@benwanless you should be able to have multiple API keys set up. 

    Thank you for your response, I was referencing the REST API Key:

    Limitations:

    Only one Access key can be created per organization.

    Here is a link to the Gainsight Support Documentation: https://support.gainsight.com/gainsight_nxt/Connectors/API_Integrations/Generate_REST_API_Key

    Unless there is a workaround or another way to generate additional API keys, I would love to know!

    Translate
    DannyPancratz
    VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    Dec 11, 2025 7:12 PM UTC

    ​@benwanless ahhhhh. I think that’s a big difference in the CS product versus CC which this question was asking about. 

    In CC you can create multiple keys for specific purposes. And I was wondering if I removed the admin that created it if they were deleted/deactivated (they’re not). 

     

     

    ​@revathimenon flagging ben’s question as one that might be good to break out into a new thread and/or needs Gainsight to repsond

    Is there any recommendation from Gainsight how to manage these considering we only are allowed one key at a time, and users change like all the time?

    Translate
    FYI: I am no longer active in this community
    benwanless
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    Dec 11, 2025 7:49 PM UTC

    Ha!

    I didn’t realize that this was a “Customer Communities” question. I honestly search for threads via google and don’t check the URL. Sorry for the misunderstanding, which was completely on my part.

    But on a side note, I’m totally jealous that the Communities product has this while CS does not.

    Translate