Skip to main content
FabRix
Contributor ⭐️
Nov 25, 2025 2:56 PM UTC
Solved

Why are some voters appearing as “Anonymous” in the Ideas section?

Hi,

I’ve noticed something unusual in our community platform. In the Ideas section, when checking the list of users who voted for an idea, some voters appear as “Anonymous”, as shown in the screenshot attached.

Does anyone know what might be causing this?

Thank you in advance for your help!

 

 

    revathimenon
    Gainsight Community Lead
    Nov 26, 2025 11:30 AM UTC

    Hi ​@FabRix 

    A quick update here - If a user voted on an idea and their account is later deleted, we can’t retain any of their personal details. However, we also don’t want to remove their vote — so it will appear as an anonymous vote.

    This works the same way as when a user who has posted a topic or reply is deleted: the content remains, but the author is displayed as Anonymous.

    Hope this helps!

    Where focus goes, energy flows.

    4 replies

    dayn.johnson
    VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    Nov 25, 2025 3:07 PM UTC

    Wonder if this might be due to the ongoing SF issues?

    Specifically the connection between CC and Salesforce. 

     

     

    Translate
    Staff CS Content & Comms Manager, 2x Gainsight CS Ops Product Council Member
    FabRix
    FabRixAuthor
    Contributor ⭐️
    Nov 25, 2025 3:20 PM UTC

    Thanks ​@dayn.johnson for your reply.
    However, there is no connection at all between our platform and Salesforce, nor with any other CRM.

    Translate
    revathimenon
    Gainsight Community Lead
    Nov 26, 2025 11:25 AM UTC

    Hi ​@FabRix 

    We’ve never experienced this before - let me check internally and come back to you.

    Highly likely that this is a one off situation, so it would be ideal to raise it with support.

    Translate
    Where focus goes, energy flows.
    revathimenon
    Gainsight Community Lead
    Nov 26, 2025 11:30 AM UTC

    Hi ​@FabRix 

    A quick update here - If a user voted on an idea and their account is later deleted, we can’t retain any of their personal details. However, we also don’t want to remove their vote — so it will appear as an anonymous vote.

    This works the same way as when a user who has posted a topic or reply is deleted: the content remains, but the author is displayed as Anonymous.

    Hope this helps!

    Translate
    Where focus goes, energy flows.