Skip to main content
October 29, 2021
Discovery

Allow for groups to be archived/unarchived

Related products:CC Groups
  • October 29, 2021
  • 14 replies
  • 251 views

We utilize groups for a lot of things and I’d love to have a way to be able to archive/unarchive a group once a group is no longer needed while still retaining the valuable content in that group should it want to be referenced or resurrected later. You can think of this being similar to how a channel can be archived in Slack.

This would do a couple things:

  • it would remove the group from the overall groups list in Destination
  • it would move the group from the main list in Control to some sort of archive list or grouping or indicate the group as archived vs. active
  • it would retain the topics in that group should someone want to reference and also could automatically remove the members that were part of the group and notify them that it has been archived.

Some examples for us:

  • we use groups for betas. At the end of the beta, we’d like to be able to archive the group so it no longer appears in our list of groups while still retaining the topics created in that group for reference by our product team should it be needed. Today we have to instead move a bunch of topics to a hidden category, then delete the group and this is all manual work.
  • we may create a group, then find out that it’s not delivering the expected value (e.g. a group for a city/region). It may be helpful to get it off the site, remove and notify the members, and retain the content should the group want to be resurrected again in the future

I’d see this applying to any group type - public, private, or hidden.

14 replies

LisaN
Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️
June 10, 2026

@erin.brisson You might want to consider removing all members from the group and then turning it to a Hidden group (if it isn’t one already.)  Once it is hidden and all the members removed, the group “shell” will still exist and you have all the posts, but no one can access other than Admins and it won’t appear in the Community Group page.  Might be slightly less work than tagging and moving all content.   We haven’t had to decommission a group yet but this is the method I was planning on taking.  

erin.brisson
Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
June 10, 2026

Interesting, thanks ​@LisaN! The only thing to note in this approach is that when a member is removed, they get notified, so I would have to turn off notifications so the members don’t get notified that they’ve been removed.

Erin
LisaN
Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️
June 10, 2026

Yeah, in our case it’s a Beta group that we will be announcing is closing so the notifications won’t be a surprise but for older inactive groups I can see that being a concern.  

Product Manager
June 24, 2026
The following idea has been merged into this idea:

All the votes have been transferred into this idea.