Skip to main content
alex_legay
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
June 28, 2017
Released

Be able to reset dashboard reports that have global dashboard filters

Related products:CS Reports
  • June 28, 2017
  • 20 replies
  • 226 views
Right now in dashboards, it is possible to reset any report container back to its original state that exists in report builder. For example, you change one of the filters but forget what it was originally.

If the dashboard is using global dashboard filter this option is not there. So say you modify one of the non global filters and forget what the original filter was set to, there is no easy way for a user to reset this without removing the container in the dashboard layouts and adding the report back.

I think you should be able to reset the report container to the original and then have the global filter still be there.

    20 replies

    yogesh_singh
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️
    June 28, 2017
    Global Filters control the filter value state of Report Container. If we provide option to clear the Report Container state while global filter exists, there may be confusion on who is controlling the state of filter values. Also, when we refresh the page, filer values are overridden by global filters, removing the effect of reset.

    Post summer release we might think about this option, as with summer release we are giving an option to select some or all of the reports to be part of a global filter definition. The reports that are not part of the global filters in this situation could have the "Clear Filters" option enabled. But currently its not considered as part of summer release. If there are enough use cases it makes sense to consider it.
    alex_legay
    Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
    June 28, 2017
    Hi Yogesh,

    I am fine with the global filter staying locked and applied to every container/report. But if any non global filter that is configured in report builder is modified to another value, you should be able to return it to the original filter.
    jeffrey_coleman
    Helper ⭐️
    June 28, 2017
    I agree. The field(s) that are applied as global dashboard filters should be automatically locked and the report reset function should reset the unlocked filters.
    yogesh_singh
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️
    June 29, 2017
    Agreed! As mentioned, Post summer release we might think about this option.
    daniel_oberes_b2e3e0
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    June 29, 2017
    Yes, this would be very helpful.
    dstokowski
    Gainsight Employee ⭐️⭐️
    June 29, 2017
    This came up in our review with some customers as an ask regarding global filters.
    venky_reddy_k
    Helper ⭐️
    June 30, 2017
    Hi Denise,

    This is no scoped for Summer. We will take this up as post Summer.

    Thanks
    Venky
    melissa_i_959be6
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    August 9, 2017
    I'll add my two cents... we also ran into a situation where an end user changed a filter setting and then was unable to select the 'Clear Settings/Filters' in order to get it back to default.  And as an end user, they can't hop into report builder and look to see what it should be set to.  I also agree that the global filter should 'lock' that filter for all reports on the dashboard, but in our case, the global filter was for CSM and the filter they wanted to reset was for a date.

    Conclusion: The 'Clear Settings/Filters' option should still be available on all dashboard reports, even if there is a global filter and selecting that option resets everything to default but then adheres to the global filters.  
    melissa_i_959be6
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    October 16, 2017
    Hey there!  Just wondering if this has been prioritized at all for an upcoming release?  It's now become a larger issue for us.  We've been using Gainsight for a little over a year now and decided it's time to get feedback and do a little revamp of our dashboards.  The majority of our dashboards have a global filter for assignee (ie - CSM ='s, Team Manager ='s, etc...).  Because all the reports on those dashboards have a global filter applied, every tweak and edit we make does not get reflected for our end users.  So depending on what kind of edits I made, any report I've made changes to is either completely unchanged for the end user or just completely inaccurate (because I added a field, which does get reflected, but fields that were already in the report that were edited, do not).

    The way it is now, after our revamp, I would need to email every end user and detail every change they need to go in and make to every report filter.  This is a terrible user experience.
    tharun
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️
    May 9, 2018
    Requesting an update on behalf of a customer who has requested the same feature.