Skip to main content
cbeac2432
Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️
June 8, 2021
Discovery

Delete button for end user original poster

Related products:CC Moderation
  • June 8, 2021
  • 12 replies
  • 115 views

Our end users have always made use of the ‘delete button’ on their posts (answers/questions/replies etc). Would love to continue to have that functionality. 

12 replies

Ati Somos
Gainsight Employee ⭐️
Gainsight Employee ⭐️
June 25, 2021

Hi @cbeac2432 
Thanks for writing! It does seem like a good idea to have that option. I wanted to learn more about the use case when your users would delete their post. In what case editing is not sufficient to edit the post, for example? 

Also, if we were to have this option, would it be alright if deleting was only possible until the first 60 minutes of making the post?

Product Designer at InSided
Ati Somos
Gainsight Employee ⭐️
Gainsight Employee ⭐️
June 25, 2021
Updated idea status New → Open
Product Designer at InSided
cbeac2432
cbeac2432Author
Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️
June 25, 2021

@Ati Somos Thanks! Ability to delete until first 60 min would def be a step in the right direction! If users can self-moderate a bit it takes that unnecessary lift off of the moderation team. AKA someone wants to delete something they posted last month and they DM the moderator to please delete such and such post and then the moderator finds it and deletes it and confirms with them instead of the og user deleting on their own without a middle man.

mirons
Contributor ⭐️⭐️
June 16, 2022

Yep, +1 on this, it would be great to allow users to delete posts for a period of time.

JessicaMendez
Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
February 17, 2023

+1 on this idea. This would be incredibly helpful for our community.

LClev
Contributor ⭐️⭐️
February 9, 2026

+1 on this. This is a frequent ask, especially by our employee contributors. In addition to the option to edit their own posts, they need the ability to delete. 

Contributor ⭐️
February 25, 2026

+1 to this idea. This should be a granted permission that we should also have the option to enable by default for all users.

jvdc
Expert ⭐️
February 26, 2026

Yep, I think this should be added as a permission within categories / user roles

Sanne van Opstal-Brakel
Helper ⭐️
February 26, 2026

Yes I like this idea, especially it being permission based so that not every one can do it, but for instance really something for super users or so. Or just employees that would not need access to the controle center but that could help out in the community more. 

Sharing = caring
LClev
Contributor ⭐️⭐️
March 3, 2026

I’ll add that ​@Ati Somos original suggestion -- being able to delete only 60 minutes after posting is not a feasible solution. 

We need the ability for unlimited time to pass and permission-ed users to be able to delete their posts.