Duplicate idea management: stop votes
Hi there
In communities everyone just comes in and creates their idea as if it is new.
This idea of mine might be a duplicate too.
Admins need to manage these duplicates.
They will find that duplicate and can do a few things about it:
- merge into the existing idea (transferring votes)
- set the duplicate idea to a āclosed duplicateā status (or similar)
- close the discussion, therefore redirecting the discussion to the existing idea
That sounds good, except thereās a big hole, people can still vote for the duplicate idea. This makesĀ the merge process futile, youāllĀ come back a month later and have to āmergeā again to transfer the new votes.
Can we please stop votes when an idea discussion is closed?
Mockup to illustrate the issue:
Ā

Ā