Skip to main content
cameron_wright
Gainsight Employee ⭐️⭐️
July 26, 2018
Discovery

Dynamic dashboard reports

Related products:CS Reports
  • July 26, 2018
  • 15 replies
  • 191 views
Working with a customer we found that reports are not dynamically updated in dashboard after making changes to the report itself.

If there is a global filter present in that report and the report is impacted by any global filter then we don't show the option to "clear settings/filters" so the only fix would be to remove and readd the report. 

This is due to user state preservation.

I think a better solution would be to have the reports dynamically update the dashboard or have the option to upon changes.

    15 replies

    heather_hansen
    VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    March 7, 2019
    Agree. Just ran into the same issue here where I needed to make updates to some reports in a dashboard with a global filter. Could we perhaps propagate the changes, and then, just pop up a message to the users that there have been some changes to their dashboards, and they'll need to redo any filters applied?

    rakesh
    Gainsight Employee ⭐️
    Lets put your data to work!
    March 8, 2019
    We will be shipping clear settings for all reports irrespective of presence of a global filter real soon. The idea is with this click end user can reset the report to admin state. Hope this reduces some of those calls.

    This is one step in the direction of making user state preservation more ideal for more customers!

    sagan_sherlin
    Helper ⭐️⭐️
    July 11, 2019
    Has anyone noticed an uptick in the number of times we're having to tell users to use the "Clear Settings/Filters" option on a report after a simple change is made? For instance, I added the ability to see the data points (numbers) - and they had to use that option in order to see the change.

    Within the past few weeks I've noticed more people complaining about the number of times they are having to use that when simple change is made to a report. And when you're updating 20+ reports because of a change, and then telling the users to use that setting on each report...they aren't happy.

    Just wanting to know if there is any headway creating a global "Clear Settings/Filters" option.

    davebrown2242
    Helper ⭐️
    July 26, 2019
    Nailed it!

    DB
    sierra_evans
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    March 16, 2020

    Along these lines, has anyone had dashboard widgets throw errors if user has not cleared/reset global filters after a change to the underlying report? This error resolved after the user cleared and re-added global filters (no changes made in dashboard administration), but this is definitely not an ideal experience.