Skip to main content
Anne
Contributor ⭐️⭐️
February 7, 2019
Parked

Provide access to own topics and posts for Archived / Hidden topics

Related products:CC Others
  • February 7, 2019
  • 20 replies
  • 204 views
Some users of our Community would like to access to old material they have written in topics that were moved to our (hidden) archive. We archive these when the information is obsolete and we don't want new visitors to get wrong information.

This is what some of our regular users encounter:


  • They read a new topic and vaguely remember a similar question they might have written a reply for. Instead of reinventing the wheel the user wants to partly recycle their former post.
  • They open the list of posts they have created from their profile. They see the complete list, regardless if the concerning topics are placed in a hidden category.
  • They click on the post they would like to check, then they see the 403 page when the topic was archived/hidden by us.

This also is true - in a lesser extend - for topics they created.

Suggestion: Allways provide access to publicly hidden topics for users that have started the topic or have posted messages in that topic.

20 replies

dayn.johnson
VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
March 13, 2024

When we do close a group we’ll aim to keep the content available by moving it out to a category, so that you still have access to it.  As I mentioned above, there might be exceptions to this, for example, if the content is confidential (for example, related to a private Beta).

 

I’m not sure I understand how this applies to all the posts that were made in a beta group. For example, there were a LOT of posts about features/issues that are now live in the new dynamic JO that were spun up in the beta group. Those posts are still very relevant, since a lot of those features or issues are still being discussed now that dynamic JO is out of the private beta.

It should not fall to us as USERS of Gainsight to pull the content from one of those private posts into a comment in a new, publicly viewable post. See this example post -- and the comment (8th one down) that includes all of the content from the private post (sourced by copying the previous post into a Google Doc, reformatting, and removing the extraneous text and icons). It’s inconvenient to be trying to discuss one of these issues (especially when there are supporting screenshots) with other community members and to not be able to share the posts with them so they have all the info.

If the posts we make in a private beta group will not be publicly visible once the new feature goes live, there needs to be a better way for all users to have access to information about the features that may be helpful to them.

Staff CS Content & Comms Manager, 2x Gainsight CS Ops Product Council Member
bradley
Expert ⭐️
March 13, 2024

 

When we do close a group we’ll aim to keep the content available by moving it out to a category, so that you still have access to it.  As I mentioned above, there might be exceptions to this, for example, if the content is confidential (for example, related to a private Beta).

 

I guess I’m still not tracking this part either, and I agree with @dayn.johnson too. Even if we can’t share it with anyone who wasn’t in the Beta group to begin with unless we repost the content somewhere else, I don’t understand why I would not still have access to posts and content that I have created. 

In my experience, at least half of the feedback given during a Beta isn’t addressed by the time the beta closes and it may be years before it ever is. If I’m having conversations with product and engineering, I should still be able to reference my old posts even just as talking points, and they will likely have specific examples as well.

Kenneth R
Expert ⭐️⭐️
March 14, 2024

Hey @bradley and @dayn.johnson - I’m hearing your concerns and needs loud and clear.  The fact is that we don’t have a highly formalised process for the closure of groups yet (they are mostly run by folks in other teams across Gainsight, with our support).  We’ve discussed as a team and we’re taking your input here onboard as we look to guiding group creation (and eventual closure) moving forwards - totally get why you want and expect to maintain access to your posted content.  👍

bradley
Expert ⭐️
March 14, 2024

Thanks @Kenneth R for indulging us and looking into it :) Might be helpful to other users if the status of this request was changed as well so it doesn’t look like it’s been solved and not being looked into further.

dayn.johnson
VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
March 14, 2024

Agreed with @bradley, thank you!

Staff CS Content & Comms Manager, 2x Gainsight CS Ops Product Council Member
Kenneth R
Expert ⭐️⭐️
March 14, 2024

Yep!  I’ll ping our CC Product team to get this one changed - like I said, we actually did deliver on this idea within the CC Product a couple years ago.  :)

bradley
Expert ⭐️
March 15, 2024

Yep!  I’ll ping our CC Product team to get this one changed - like I said, we actually did deliver on this idea within the CC Product a couple years ago.  :)

Awesome, that would be great! Since there’s still the issue with hidden things not being accessible it would probably help internal teams as well as customers to see that it’s still an open item worth voting for/commenting on.

bradley
Expert ⭐️
October 1, 2024

@Kenneth R  

 this thread is an example of what I’m talking about here: 

 

The prior Beta community group appears to no longer exist, even though I used to be in it. I can’t search my own posts, so I don’t know if there are ones missing from public view that would be good to recreate.

This feature is in desperate need of attention, and I’m not even sure I have access to all of my own feedback. 

Is this helpful context on what I’m talking about? Do I need to make a dedicated post about this, because from my perspective the issue is pretty clearly not resolved, and the status of this thread seems to indicate it never will be.

Kenneth R
Expert ⭐️⭐️
October 3, 2024

Hey @bradley - I connected with our Product Operations team about this.  So far we have never intentionally deleted or removed access from any of our Beta groups.  It should be possible in almost all cases for you to find your original content.  As we mentioned before, however, there were one or two exceptions related to the merge project in December.  During that migration, group membership was lost so everyone had to re-join and/or get re-invited to their old groups.  There were just a couple of cases were that didn’t happen as the Betas were no longer running.  The Customer Goals group is a key exception here, and the content that was created in it still exists, so I will go ahead and add you to it again so you have access to your old content.  

I totally understand that you want to maintain access to your original content, so going forward we’ll always look to find a way to do that, even if/when we do need to close a group.

dayn.johnson
VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
October 7, 2024

Hey @bradley - During that migration, group membership was lost so everyone had to re-join and/or get re-invited to their old groups.  There were just a couple of cases were that didn’t happen as the Betas were no longer running. 

I totally understand that you want to maintain access to your original content, so going forward we’ll always look to find a way to do that, even if/when we do need to close a group.

 

Completely understand that during a migration the groups might need to be rejoined

@Kenneth R -- I wonder, would it be possible to add filters to the “your comments” and “your topics” section? Sometimes it’s difficult to remember WHERE we posted something. And when we have hundreds of replies, it can be near to impossible to find the the post we’re looking for.

Staff CS Content & Comms Manager, 2x Gainsight CS Ops Product Council Member