Product Guru
May 23, 2018
How To Erase A User From Your Community
- May 23, 2018
- 19 replies
- 1302 views
The right to erasure, also referred to as the right to be forgotten, is one of the main principles of the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). It sets a new standard for how companies use and protect EU citizens’ data and applies from 25 May 2018.
The Regulation describes erasure as the process by which information is rendered inaccessible and unusable for all relevant parties. Personal data can be erased in a number of ways, including by masking the relevant personal information, so long as the erasure is irreversible, even by the institution carrying out the erasure process. That is also known as the anonymization of personal data records.
You can erase a user via our API, or by using the ‘Erasure User’ feature available on the user profile page in Control.
The feature initiates the user erasure process, which can take up to 30 days.
The system will remove the following data from our platform:
Personal data from the specific user in the following data containers will be erased in the next 23 days.
⚠️ Once a user is erased, it is not possible to recover the account.
The Regulation describes erasure as the process by which information is rendered inaccessible and unusable for all relevant parties. Personal data can be erased in a number of ways, including by masking the relevant personal information, so long as the erasure is irreversible, even by the institution carrying out the erasure process. That is also known as the anonymization of personal data records.
You can erase a user via our API, or by using the ‘Erasure User’ feature available on the user profile page in Control.
The feature initiates the user erasure process, which can take up to 30 days.
The system will remove the following data from our platform:
- The user’s profile (including all profile fields).
- The user’s private message conversations (any conversation which the user was in - including for the other user in the conversation).
- References to the user in our analytics platform.
- References to the user in our search platform.
- Subscriptions from the user to specific content.
- Ranks/Badges received by the user.
- The user’s position on the leaderboards
Personal data from the specific user in the following data containers will be erased in the next 23 days.
- Log files
- Backup files
- References to the user in all data exports.
⚠️ Once a user is erased, it is not possible to recover the account.
