Skip to main content
hardik_mota
Helper ⭐️
June 12, 2019
Parked

Admin access required for Mass deleting timeline drafts for all the users

Related products:CS Timeline & Activity Tracking
  • June 12, 2019
  • 12 replies
  • 171 views
Hi Team,

One of our customer is looking for a feature where admins can mass delete the timeline draft for all the users in the org. This will save time for users. Admin can review it and can speed up the process.



Current behaviour : Only users can mass delete their own draft, but not admins.

Expected behaviour: Need admin access to mass delete draft for all the users in the org



Best,

Hardik

    12 replies

    venkatesh_sirpurkar
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    June 13, 2019
    Hi Hardik & Jeff,

    In our latest release(patch update) we have enabled Timeline with higher limit on Drafts per user (50 drafts per user) and a User can select multple drafts and delete them. This means an user saving more drafts compared to others will no more impact other's ability to save drafts, but only his/her.

    https://support.gainsight.com/Release_Notes/Current_Release_Notes/Release_Notes_Version_6.3_May_2019#Timeline

    I would like to understand that if Admin has to delete the drafts, how will he know if user has saved any draft with a purpose?

    darkknight
    Expert ⭐️
    June 13, 2019
    This is more useful for when a user is no longer active and we need to delete drafts for someone who has left the organization.

    Jeff Kirkpatrick
    heather_hansen
    VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    June 13, 2019
    The other reason I could think of would be to do a mass clean up of older drafts. The assumption being if the draft was created months ago, it's probably no longer relevant.

    venkatesh_sirpurkar
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    June 18, 2019
    Just sharing my ideas, please share your thoughts on this

    @Jeff and @heather_hansen Unlike before now the draft limit is per user. Where as I agree that old drafts after a while become redundant in most of the cases. Ideal solution here would be to assign an 'Expiry period' for the drafts, may be defined by admin. Would you agree?

    heather_hansen
    VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    June 18, 2019
    @venkatesh_sirpurkar I like that idea too.

    Contributor ⭐️⭐️
    October 22, 2019

    Upvote

    Users & admins need the ability to mass delete drafts; it’s a waste of time to do it one by one

    sai_ram
    Expert ⭐️⭐️
    November 19, 2019

    @All, Thanks for bringing this up! we have added this to our roadmap, will update here once we consider this for release. 

    jeynreyn
    Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    January 18, 2024

    definitely +1!! @sai_ram last post here was 4 years ago. Do you have an update on this for us?

    Jenn
    ebell
    Gainsight Employee ⭐️
    Gainsight Employee ⭐️
    April 18, 2025

    Hey Community!

    Another customer has also encountered an issue with this while cleaning up Timeline Activity Types. 

    Use Case: An Admin wants to clean up Timeline Activity Types because, even with disabling them, all undeleted Activity Types will appear is the Global and C360/R360 Timeline filters. There is a LARGE list of disabled Activity Types, so the Admin must remove them to curb confusion with End Users. All Activity Timeline records with the undesired Activity Type have been changed to a new Activity Type.

    Problem: Even after changing the Activity Types of all Activity Timeline records with the undesired Activity Type, User Timeline Drafts may have this Activity Type and it will prevent the Admin from being able to delete this Activity Type. There is no list of User Timeline Drafts visible to the Admin, so the Admin must Log in a User for each User and check their Timeline Drafts, which is not scalable.

    Possible Solutions:

    • Allow Admin to View/Edit/Delete Activity Timeline Drafts of all Users in a consolidated view (this could result in a loss of data for the End User)
    • Allow Admin to View Activity Timeline Drafts of all Users in a consolidated view and flag a Draft for deletion; this notifies the End User and deletes the Draft after X days (this could result in a loss of data for the End User)
    • Allow Admin to View Activity Timeline Drafts of all Users in a consolidated view. From there, the Admin could Log in as User and change/delete Drafts as needed (possibly not scalable)
    • If an Admin disables an Activity Type, all Drafts with that Activity Type selected will be changed to a Default Activity Type (this could result in data loss for fields that had data, but that field is not configured on the Default Activity Type)
    • Drafts are automatically marked for deletion after X days of inactivity (as mentioned by ​@venkatesh_sirpurkar); the End User is notified after X days. (this does not guarantee Drafts are cleaned up)

     

    Emily Bell, Sr. Enterprise Technical Support Analyst