Skip to main content
Dasa
Contributor ⭐️⭐️
November 3, 2020
Discovery

Move published article back to draft

Related products:CC Moderation
  • November 3, 2020
  • 11 replies
  • 203 views

Our Help Center has been updated constantly, and sometimes bigger edits are needed. In that case, we’d rather unpublish the article until it’s ready to go live again.

11 replies

Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
November 5, 2020

Hello @Dasa , thanks for your idea. About your use case I'm hesitating between two solutions:

  • First as you said, unpublish and move the article back to draft. However, I wonder if end users wouldn't be confused by having an article disappear
  • Second having a versioning system that would allow you to have a second draft that you would then publish when ready to go live and replace the original article

Could you let me know your thoughts?

Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
November 5, 2020
Updated idea status New → Open
bjoern_schulze
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
November 6, 2020

I also see the need to be able to “depublish” articles without either needing to delete them or move them to a private category. There are several possible use cases:

  • Content is outdated and needs a big overhaul
  • licenses for images / media in the content are expired and we need to replace them, which can take time
  • Legal requires us to remove content from the frontend because of a legal dispute (e.g. we are being sued for using copyrighted material) but we shouldn’t delete it in order to save the evidence

As for your questions, @Marion Frecaut:

Yes, users might be confused by having an article disappear, e.g. if they are coming from Google. But being able to see content that they shouldn’t see weights heavier in my opinion.

Having a second draft is a good idea, which (in my opinion) isn’t a solution to the use cases mentioned above, but could be useful in general.

xiaoyu-shen
Helper ⭐️⭐️
April 2, 2021
The following idea has been merged into this idea:

All the votes have been transferred into this idea.
Contributor ⭐️⭐️
April 5, 2021

@Marion Frecaut We also have the use case of having created separate articles following our virtual conference. We’ve published them, however have received request to remove them until we confirm who will access the content. So the only way to unpublish them was to delete them which is not so useful

Helper ⭐️
December 23, 2022

This would be very useful.

I’m preparing some articles for January and using the scheduled publish function but accidentally selected publish now.  I can’t reverse the error so I’m going to have to delete it and recreate it. 

In previous software we’ve had the option to unpublish and used it for:

  • Out of date content.
  • Publishing errors
A11ey
Helper ⭐️⭐️
August 17, 2023

Upvoting this!  My use case:  I just published an announcement about a new custom page, and the iframe on page is no longer working.  I would like to unpublish until this is fixed!  

Alley Fasching, Director of LogicMonitor Community
cclements
Contributor ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
June 2, 2025

This would be very helpful to have the ability to do. I’m currently moving into a hidden group, which doesn’t seem to be the most efficient process.

~ Courtney Clements
atwhite
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
October 21, 2025

I’m not sure if this should be part of this idea or a separate suggestion, but the option to edit/update the Publish Date would also be helpful in conjunction with this proposed feature. 

Larry
Helper ⭐️⭐️
March 20, 2026
Open→Discovery
Larry Imgrund || Senior Product Manager & Community Nerd