Skip to main content
daniel.boon
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
April 24, 2019
Update

Delete private messages, unsubscribe from @mentions, and more improvements

  • April 24, 2019
  • 23 replies
  • 973 views
You asked, we listened. We have recently implemented some platform improvements based on your ideas and feedback here on inSpired. Read on to learn what is now available:

  • Private message deletion for community members
  • Unsubscribe from @mention email notifications
  • Content Helpfulness Facelift
  • Show warning dialog if you navigate away from the create topic process
  • Bulk operation to close multiple topics at once
  • Ability for moderators to post the same message multiple times

Private message deletion for community members

We worked on this feature based on this popular idea. Community members can now delete private messages they have sent to other users or moderators, enabling them to remove content they’ve sent privately that they no longer want to share. Both members of the conversation can see that a message has been deleted, for the sake of transparency. The deletion is available on the front end when viewing your conversation with another user.


Unsubscribe from @mention email notifications

Opting out from @mention notifications, a highly voted idea, is now available. Go to your Profile Settings page and set ‘Receive email notifications when you are mentioned’ to No. Once set to No you will no longer receive an email when another user mentions you.


Content Helpfulness Facelift

We changed the emoji, used to up- or downvote a topic, to a more friendly set.


Show warning dialog if you navigate away from the create topic process

When you're in the middle of creating a topic and accidentally refresh, navigate or forget to open in a new tab, there's no warning and your progress is lost. This is no longer the case. We implemented a warning dialog, based on this idea, that shows if you navigate away from the create topic page after providing some input already.


Bulk operation to close multiple topics at once

You can now close multiple topics at once (based on this idea). Simply go to the topic overview in Control, select some topics, press ‘More’ in the toolbar at the bottom, and select ‘Close’. This will prevent community members from submitting new replies to these topics.

Ability for moderators to post the same message multiple times

When there’s a major incident affecting a large portion of your customer base, sometimes you need to repeat yourself. Sometimes you need to repeat yourself, so we made it possible for moderators to post the same message multiple times, as requested in this idea.

---

We hope you're happy with these changes - give us any feedback in the replies below! 🙂

23 replies

Julian
Gainsight Employee ⭐️⭐️⭐️
May 3, 2022

Hi @revote,

just spotted this after being back from holiday…

While we do agree that deleting private message conversations after a certain period, unfortunately we do not offer a functionality for you to automate this just yet. This has several reasons, however “why”-questions in tech are traditionally harder to answer. ;)

We currently offer a system where we let the customer decide when private messages should be deleted, also which ones should be deleted: I have seen varying requests here (e.g. only messages between the community team and end users vs. all messages), which I feel goes back to different interpretations of how GDPR should be handled in this regard.

Our support team and our CSMs usually align with the CM on periods. We do want to offer a better solution here in the future, however it is not easy finding a one-fits-all solution that will meet the different expectations from CMs towards such a functionality. 

Hope this made it a bit clearer for you. :)

I follow my nose, it always knows
revote
VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
May 3, 2022

Sorry, I didnt remember that you were on holiday @Julian. I remembered it after I posted :)

I think the solution where recipient can delete the whole conversation works for everyone and with every usecases. Just like FB Messenger works I think?

revote
VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
May 3, 2022

I think the solution where recipient can delete the whole conversation works for everyone and with every usecases. Just like FB Messenger works I think?

And the conversation will be deleted only from the profile who press the delete. The other user still have the conversation and he/she have to do the deletion by him/herself as well.