Skip to main content
daniel.boon
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
April 24, 2019
Update

Delete private messages, unsubscribe from @mentions, and more improvements

  • April 24, 2019
  • 23 replies
  • 973 views
You asked, we listened. We have recently implemented some platform improvements based on your ideas and feedback here on inSpired. Read on to learn what is now available:

  • Private message deletion for community members
  • Unsubscribe from @mention email notifications
  • Content Helpfulness Facelift
  • Show warning dialog if you navigate away from the create topic process
  • Bulk operation to close multiple topics at once
  • Ability for moderators to post the same message multiple times

Private message deletion for community members

We worked on this feature based on this popular idea. Community members can now delete private messages they have sent to other users or moderators, enabling them to remove content they’ve sent privately that they no longer want to share. Both members of the conversation can see that a message has been deleted, for the sake of transparency. The deletion is available on the front end when viewing your conversation with another user.


Unsubscribe from @mention email notifications

Opting out from @mention notifications, a highly voted idea, is now available. Go to your Profile Settings page and set ‘Receive email notifications when you are mentioned’ to No. Once set to No you will no longer receive an email when another user mentions you.


Content Helpfulness Facelift

We changed the emoji, used to up- or downvote a topic, to a more friendly set.


Show warning dialog if you navigate away from the create topic process

When you're in the middle of creating a topic and accidentally refresh, navigate or forget to open in a new tab, there's no warning and your progress is lost. This is no longer the case. We implemented a warning dialog, based on this idea, that shows if you navigate away from the create topic page after providing some input already.


Bulk operation to close multiple topics at once

You can now close multiple topics at once (based on this idea). Simply go to the topic overview in Control, select some topics, press ‘More’ in the toolbar at the bottom, and select ‘Close’. This will prevent community members from submitting new replies to these topics.

Ability for moderators to post the same message multiple times

When there’s a major incident affecting a large portion of your customer base, sometimes you need to repeat yourself. Sometimes you need to repeat yourself, so we made it possible for moderators to post the same message multiple times, as requested in this idea.

---

We hope you're happy with these changes - give us any feedback in the replies below! 🙂

23 replies

daniel.boon
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
May 8, 2019
Thanks for your feedback everyone.

One thing to note: the way private messages work on our platform is that there's a single thread shared between the sender and the receiver. That means if a message/conversation is deleted/erased, it will be deleted for both sender/receiver. So I'd like to clarify whether being able to erase entire conversations is really necessary, or if a 'soft' delete (i.e. archiving for one user) would be acceptable).


Hello,

Here are some feedbacks from our Community about theses changes :
  • They really wanted to be able to erase a whole conversation. They're not so interested in erasing only one message. They are very experienced users, though. They know they don't have to share their personnal informations with everyone. In this regard, I personnaly feel this function is useful.


Thanks for your feedback @lionel s! Why do your experienced users want to erase conversations? Do they really want to erase or are they more interested in keeping their inbox tidy, in which case an 'archive' (hiding it for just one user) would probably suffice?

Hi Daniel,

I have a messges in my inbox I no longer need and would love to have the option to delete or archive those messages, so my inbox does not look so cluttered.


Thanks @aluciani, that's clear 🙂. I guess in this case an archive would be acceptable?
inSided product alumnus
lionel s
Contributor ⭐️⭐️
May 13, 2019
Hello @daniel.boon,

Keeping their inbox tidy is the main goal here, so I guess an archive would be more than enough to answer their expectations. 😉
Contributor ⭐️
March 27, 2020

Hi @daniel.boon 

I realise these posts are quite old now, but wanted to know if there was any progress made on being able to delete whole conversations or individual messages from another user? 

We need to be able to delete personal data after a customer has entered it into a private message to us.

Thanks,

Amelia

daniel.boon
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
March 30, 2020

I realise these posts are quite old now, but wanted to know if there was any progress made on being able to delete whole conversations or individual messages from another user? 

We need to be able to delete personal data after a customer has entered it into a private message to us.

Thanks,

Amelia

Hi @AmeliaA,

We don’t have any concrete plans to iterate on this functionality. What would your preference be between deleting whole conversations, vs deleting individual messages from another user?

inSided product alumnus
bjoern_schulze
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
March 30, 2020

This function (removing private message conversations) has come up again in our community today as well. In order to be GDPR compliant, customers’ personal data has to be removed after the service case has been finished / solved. This still isn’t possible with inSided.

Our preferred solution would be: All private conversations that had the last activity (e.g. last message) X days ago (e.g. 180 days ago), will be automatically deleted.

The ability (for moderators and above) to delete complete private conversations or individual messages from other users would be a good additional functionality. But without an added automatic solution - as stated above - it would mean that moderators would need to permanently manually check private message inboxes in order to identify and delete conversations. 

Contributor ⭐️
March 30, 2020

Hi @daniel.boon 

Thanks, deleting individual messages would be best, so we can make sure we’ve removed anything that includes sensitive customer data. But options to delete both individual messages and whole conversations would be ideal.

Thanks,

Amelia

Michael
Helper ⭐️
June 23, 2021

Hey @daniel.boon - any update on this deletion functionality? We had a spamming incident and would really like to remove all messages to and from this user. Thank you very much

daniel.boon
Helper ⭐️⭐️⭐️
June 23, 2021

Hey @Michael - thanks for your question. I don’t have any updates on this deletion functionality, however if you’d like to remove all messages to/from a particular user, then one option would be to erase the user → the erasure also includes deleting all private message conversations involving the user who was spamming your community members.

inSided product alumnus
Michael
Helper ⭐️
June 23, 2021

@daniel.boon awesome - thanks for the insight!

revote
VIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
April 27, 2022

This function (removing private message conversations) has come up again in our community today as well. In order to be GDPR compliant, customers’ personal data has to be removed after the service case has been finished / solved. This still isn’t possible with inSided.

 

This is very good point, inSided isn´t GDPR compliant platform at the moment. When GDPR came, several years ago? :)

What is the reason for inSided not to allow us as admin to delete whole conversation or individual messages?

@Julian ?