Skip to main content

    Idea Pipeline

    Filter by idea status

    Filter by product area

    6164 Ideas

    VBennyGainsight
    VBennyGainsightContributor ⭐️⭐️

    Enable modifications to engagements after translationOpen

    Currently, after you upload XLIFF files to an engagement to provide translations, you are not allowed to modify the engagement. This means that to modify an engagement after a translation has been put in it, you have to take the following steps:Store the original XLIFF file Remove the translations from the engagement Update the engagement with the changes Re-export a blank XLIFF file Add the translations back into that blank, new XLIFF (likely using a 3rd-party diffing tool like Winmerge or Kdiff3 to facilitate) Re-import the translations.This is a pretty painful process, and means that we can only really upload translations and validate the engagement in other languages once the engagement is really, really done.It would be nice if Gainsight would:Allow editing the engagement after translations have been uploaded. Highlight engagements on the Engagements page that have been updated after they have translations, but that haven’t yet had their XLIFFs updated in one or more languages. This would remind them that they need to get the engagement translations updated to get the translations up-to-date with the base engagement. Other notifications within Gainsight reminding users of this might be useful. When an engagement has been edited in English but hasn’t yet had updated XLIFFs uploaded, show users the old version of the engagement for the other languages of the engagement, so they still see a coherent, fully-translated engagement in their native language.

    romihache
    romihacheVIP ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Data Mgmt: Ability to swap or take out a field in bulk from reports' breakdowns when deleting a fieldNew Idea

    Recently, I came upon this and I suspect I am not the only one that experienced it and there are a lot of folks that resourced to rename the old field something as "xxx_deprecated" and take it out from breakdowns as they came across it. Sorry if an idea like this exists, but I browsed a lot but couldn't find a post related to it.Use case: As a business need, we started with a string field in the C360 that had to be updated manually by the CSM, the need evolved and at that point made more sense to have a dropdown list instead of an open string. Created the new field, updated the C360s layouts, validated in Object Analyzer the dependencies of the "old" and only a few came up (5 reports and 2 rules I think)But when the actual moment to "swap" them came, I found that the field was actually used in 2 DD and 46 reports (42 of them were just the field used in the breakdown). So now I had to go one by one to update all those breakdowns (run report → add new and take out the old → run → save... 42x). I understand that if used in a report filter, C/R360 layout, rule or DD makes sense to do it manually but in the case of the field used in the breakdown only would be great to have the option to select in bulk and then be prompted with the option to either delete the field from the breakdown or swap it for another (see my awesome drawing for reference). I think that with a twist, this could be used also as a way to add a new field in several breakdowns at once, either from report builder (e.g. all the reports that have X string in the name should have the Y field in the breakdown) or data management (in all the reports that I have X field, makes sense to also have Y field)... For example:Do you want to [dropdown here to single select "add a field", "delete this field" or "swap this field"]?·If Add: Display all fields in the source object and their lookups to multiple select which field/s to add. If the field to add already exists, do nothing, if it doesn't, add it at the end of the breakdown.·If Swap: Display all fields in the source object and their lookups to single select. If the field to swap already exists in the breakdown, just take the current field from the breakdown.  If it doesn't, add the "new" at the end of the breakdown and take out the "old". If Delete: Take the field out from all breakdowns. 

    Daniele Cmty
    Daniele CmtyHelper ⭐️⭐️

    Warn user before closing tab with unsaved changes (e.g. Text in the textbox which was not submitted yet)Parked

    Hi all,I just stumbled upon the following idea: I have an idea for the same problem, but with a different (possibly simpler?) solution The Problem.Scenario: some of our users (and esp. our moderators) are writing a well thought-out reply in the text box. They take a small break (slack notification, or they need to do research before completing the reply) and then accidentally close the tab and lose everything. Problem is that there is no warning before closing the tab.They then have to type the whole comment again, often with lots of frustration. Our current workaround.Whenever I write a reply, i have taken the habit to Ctrl+A & Ctrl+C  the heck out of it, just to make sure the content is at least in my clipboard. in some instances, I also copy that text into my slack textbox so I know it’s really safe. We admins know this workaround (which isn’t the most pleasant one esp. if we have to do it every time) but it’s not really something that we wanna broadcast to the whole community. “Hey btw, you might lose your WIP comments if you’re unlucky, so make sure to always safeguard your reply somewhere!” BTW: This also applies to topics, not only replies.Proposed solutions.Either an autosave function just like @m4rc suggested above.ORWhat would be good enough is a kind of browser pop-up before closing the tab or the window, to prevent the tab from closing. So if you close the tab by accident,  you click on cancel and you’re back to your in-progress comment.Other sites/forums also have this and it’s saved me lots of frustration.   @inSided, would you consider releasing this feature? Otherwise, is this  something that I can already implement manually with some sort of third-party script?Thanks for coming to my TED Talk!Happy holidays, Daniele